China Dynasties Guide

A brief history of the Dynasties of China
All lands under the watch of Heaven

220 - 280: Three Kingdoms: Wei, Shu, Wu

Image above - Buddha in molten iron
Three Kingdoms - Wei (386-534)


The period of the Three Kingdoms (Wei, Shu, Wu) lasted 60 years, with in-fighting between the Three Emperors, who sought the right of succession of the Han dynasty; this period ended with the conquest of the Kingdom of Wu by the Jin Dynasty in 280.

china 3 kingdoms
Three Kingdoms 220-280

In this period, and in the subsequent Jin Dynasty, there was a development of the production of highly refined celadon (Yueh ware) and black glaze ceramics, for daily use, for Buddhist rituals, and for burials.